For Sense users who have installed a home energy monitor in their electric panel, there are some scenarios where you may want to reset that Sense monitor:
- You’re moving and want to take your Sense monitor with you to install on a new panel
- You have made changes to your electrical panel configuration or Sense installation
- You want to sell your Sense monitor
We do not recommend a data reset unless there has been a change with your monitor’s hardware setup. If you’re having issues with device detection and want to remove a specific device, refer to this article.
WARNING: Once your data is deleted, it cannot be restored. Find instructions on how to save your data before you reset the Sense monitor here.
Sense provides two ways to reset your data. Either option will clear all historical power data and device detection from the Monitor, but you’ll want to choose the reset variation that reflects how the Sense monitor will be used going forward.
- Factory Reset is just that: if you select this option, you are returning the Monitor to the state it was in as it first left the factory. It will no longer be associated with you; your account will be deleted. So, you might want to use this option if you sell your Sense Monitor. This makes it possible for a buyer to install the Monitor and set up a new account with Sense.
- Reset Data is the option to use when moving to a new home. Even though you will likely take many of the same appliances to your new home, the infrastructure will be different, so you will want to re-initiate device detection. Your account will otherwise remain in place, and several important pieces of information will persist, including:
- Solar sell-back rate
- Time of use rate zones
- Device inventory
- Enabled integrations
Where to reset the monitor
Once you decide which setting is best, you’ll find your options here:
Settings > My Home > Monitor > [scroll to bottom] Reset Data | Factory Reset
Was this article helpful?